Drinking Fountain for Mice

 

leafdrop

It’s easy to miss the small things. When I set out with this week’s photo challenge in mind, I thought I’d get a nice shot of the ocean or a pond with a reflection. Something big and beautiful. But as I was hiking, the morning sun caught droplets of water in a blackberry bush along the trail, and invited my curiosity. I tried in vain with my iPhone to get a shot that recreated what my eyes saw: sparkling stars amongst the brambles, but I was unsuccessful. That was when I looked down to see the wonderful little leaf saving water droplets for a mouse drinking fountain. 

wheatdrop

As I surveyed the ground, I noticed all of the residual beauty I’d neglected throughout the hike so far. Soon I was on the ground, urging my phone to get closer without degrading the quality of the photo with the sad excuse of a “zoom” feature. 

yellowdroplets

Being human sized, sometimes I forget to notice the small things. This was a fun challenge that altered my perspective for the remainder of the beautiful morning, and left my imagination seeing small animals enjoying fresh, delicious water droplets. 

One thought on “Drinking Fountain for Mice

Leave a Reply

