NaNoWriMo: The Halfway Point

shield-nano-side-blue-brown-rgb-hires

It’s hard to believe it’s already the halfway point for NaNoWriMo. I have been enjoying my first foray into the event. I like my main character (good thing, since it’s all about him!), and my companion character that I recently introduced makes me laugh a lot. All in all, it’s been a fun adventure to push myself into the story and just let it happen.

My stats aren’t where I had hoped they would be. Being the halfway point, I should be at/near the 25k word count, but sadly, I am not. After an okay-ish start, I unexpectedly had to travel out of state for a few days. Riding in a car for 12 hours there and back, one would think I had a pretty good chance of staying on task, but nope. Turns out keeping a 1 1/2 year old happy and fighting my own battles with carcolepsy (car narcolepsy – seriously, put me in a car if you want me to take a nap) makes writing a difficult task. 

screen-shot-2016-11-15-at-4-14-16-pm

But now I am home again and have been pushing to get my word count up. I was able to get in 3k words yesterday, and am hoping to keep that as my goal until I am caught back up. My daughter has been surprisingly supportive of my endeavors, I’ve actually managed to type quite a bit while tending to her demands all day!

Anyway, we’ll see how the rest goes. I am very stubborn and I hate to lose, so I foresee sleepless nights ahead as I furiously type my way closer to 50k words.

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: The Halfway Point

    • crazykatya November 18, 2016 / 8:32 am

      Thanks! Yes, I’m only around 8k word behind now, so catching up. :)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

